Minister of Finance Malusi Gigaba officially announced on Thursday that Cabinet has approved the appointment of six new board members for South African Airways (SAA), including a new chairperson to replace embattled Dudu Myeni.

Myeni is replaced by Johannes Bhekumuzi Magwaza as the new chairperson, and Nolitha Fakude is the new deputy chairperson and non-executive director, replacing Tryphosa Ramano.

New board members who will serve as non-executive directors are Geoff Rothschild, Ahmed Bassa, Tinyiko Mhlari, and Martin Kingston.

Current non-executive directors who will continue to serve on the board are Bajabulile Swazi Tshabalala, Peter Tshisevhe, Thandeka Nozipho Mogoduso, Peter Holmes Maluleka, and Akhter Hoosen Moosa.

The other board members being replaced are Mzimkulu Malunga, Siphile Buthelezi, Nazmeera Moola, and Gugu Sepamla.

"At the heart of these appointments, is a commitment from the South African government to strengthen the airline, and create conditions to see the transformation of all our state-owned companies," Gigaba said in a statement.

The changes will be effective from November 3 2017, when Gigaba is set to have a special meeting with the new board.

Gigaba said the new board brings talent, expertise and energy to the airline. "They are all highly regarded individuals with a vast and in-depth knowledge of business in both the private and public sectors."


Hello Mzansi is a South African online blog covering Entertainment news, Celebrity Gossip, Sports, Odd news, politics, business and all the Latest South African News


Post A Comment: